top of page


In 1981, Woking Junior Snorkelling Club (WJSC) (BSAC 3083) was created by Madeline Baglow and Ted Glithero as part of the National Snorkelling Club (BSAC Sub-Division).


In 1988, the club expanded to create a Scuba

Diving club, but only for those who had

progressed through their snorkel training in

WJSC. The club name Woking Special Branch

(WSB) was created, which brought a new and

our current BSAC Branch Number 1592 along.


Around 1991, The British Sub-Aqua Club (BSAC)

joined with the National Snorkelling Club (NSC)

to just become one overall governing body for

Scuba Diving and Snorkelling in the United



Through 2008 both Woking Junior Snorkelling

Club (WJSC) and Woking Special Branch (WSB)

had a major restructure to become one overall

branch of the British Sub-Aqua Club. This is where

Woking Snorkel and Scuba was created, but we

got to keep the WSB number of B1592.

Further Major milestones:

  • Active Surrey Bronze Club Accreditation - January 2010

  • Clubmark Accreditation was achieved in June 2015


Past Instructors:

  • Madeline Baglow

  • Ted Glithero

  • Lesley Flitcroft

  • Chris Knight

  • Robin Hoyle

  • Chris Sellers

  • Graham Ford

  • James Ford

  • Diana Ford

  • Nic Raimondi

  • Jackie Booth

  • Jan Horner

  • George Heighton

  • Geoff Davies

  • Sharen Ramkissoon

  • Dylan Davies

  • Darcie Mallaband

  • Lizzie Ismailova

Grandma in diving gear_edited.jpg
20230416_100329 - cropped.jpg
WSAS Logo.png

Pool in the Park,

Woking Park,

Kingfield Rd,


GU22 9BA

bottom of page